Be Strong and Courageous

One of my special memories is a watching a 2 year old in the Philippines sing the song, "Be Strong and Courageous."  I loved when he would wave his finger and sing "God is never going away."  That was the reason he could be strong and courageous.

I remembered that this morning as I was reading in Deuteronomy.  In chapter 31, Moses is preparing the people to enter the Land.  He is giving his final instructions as he prepares to go be with the Lord. 

Repeatedly, he admonishes the people and especially Joshua (who will replace him as Israel's human leader) to "be strong and courageous."  The reason–the Lord your God is the one who goes with you.  He will not fail you or forsake you." (31:7)  This same idea is repeated in 31:8 and 31:23.

What makes you afraid today?  What makes you tremble?  If you know the Lord Jesus Christ, you can be strong and courageous.  God is not going away.  He will be with you.  He will not fail you or forsake you.  I hope you will meditate on this promise today.  I pray that no matter what your circumstances, you will be strong and courageous. 

There is another song I love to listen to and sing.  It is "I Will Glory in My Redeemer."  One of my favorite parts is when the words proclaim:

Though foes are mighty, and rush upon me

My feet are firm held by His grace, My feet are firm held by His grace.

In Christ

Pastor Mike

Comments are closed.